Skip to main navigation.

Clay Electric Co-Operative, Inc. Annual Meeting Of The Members August 27, 2015

The Annual meeting of the members of Clay Electric Cooperative, Inc. was held at Oil Belt Camp Christian Service Camp, 555 Park Rd., in Flora, Illinois beginning at 6:15 o'clock p.m. on Thursday, August 27, 2015.

    The meeting was called to order by President Frank Czyzewski who welcomed the members to the 71st Annual Meeting. The National Anthem was played and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by President Czyzewski. Thereafter, Frank Czyzewski introduced Carrol Ross who gave the invocation. Secretary, Greg Smith, acted as secretary of the meeting.

    President Czyzewski then introduced the members of the Cooperative's Board of Directors. Trustees present were: Neil Gould, District 1; Frank Czyzewski, District 2; Kevin Logan, District 3; Richard Rudolphi, District 4; Danny Schnepper, District 5; Greg Smith, District 6; Bill Croy, District 7; Bob Pierson, District 8; and Frank Herman, District 9.

    President Czyzewski then introduced certain guests: Illinois State Representative David Reis; from Southern Illinois Power Cooperative, Todd Gallenbach; Wabash Telephone Cooperative, Inc. marketing staff; Air Evac as represented by Chris Rogers; representatives from the Clay County Hospital and Clay County Health Department; and from AIEC, Duane Noland, President and CEO.

    President Czyzewski invited Duane Noland of Association of Illinois Electric Cooperatives (AIEC) to briefly address the membership. Mr. Noland stressed the importance of political activism and urged the individual members to contact their legislators to voice support for an "All of the Above" energy strategy that considered affordability and efficiency in legislative and administrative policies and rules.

    President Czyzewski then called upon Melanie Pearce, Attorney for the Cooperative, to conduct the business portion of the meeting.

    A motion was made, seconded and unanimously adopted authorizing the use of the official registration list showing those persons present at said meeting, which list is attached to these minutes in lieu of a formal roll call. Attorney Pearce declared that there was a quorum present, there being Two Hundred and Eighty-Four (284) members present in person.

    Attorney Pearce read aloud the notice of the annual meeting and the proof of mailing thereof to all members of the Cooperative.

    A motion was made, seconded and unanimously approved the minutes of the Annual meeting of the members at the 70th Annual Meeting of the Members in 2014 as distributed to the members present in the 2015 Annual Meeting booklet, without a formal reading thereof.

    Attorney Pearce advised that the annual reports of the President and Secretary-Treasurer would not be read aloud but would be submitted as printed in the annual meeting booklet for approval, where upon a motion was duly made, seconded, and unanimously adopted to approve said reports as printed.

    Attorney Pearce read from Article III, Section 3(f) of the bylaws governing election of Trustees where only one Petition for Nomination for Trustee is submitted for a Trusteeship position. Attorney Pearce noted that only one Petition for Nomination for Trustee was submitted for each of the three Trusteeship positions to be elected, and that the Secretary had determined that each of the three candidates was qualified and their Petitions in order, Attorney Pearce declared that those three persons so nominated are duly elected to serve three year terms as directors. Those directors are:  Richard Rudolphi for District 4; Danny Schnepper for District 5; and Bill Croy for District 7.

    Attorney Pearce then called for new business and then for old business; there being none, upon a motion being duly made, seconded, and unanimously adopted, the business portion of meeting was declared adjourned.

    Thereafter, the meeting was turned over to President Czyzewski, who called upon Ed VanHoose, General Manager to give his Manager's report. Manager VanHoose introduced himself and his family, then expressed his appreciation and gratitude to the Board, membership, and his family. Manager VanHoose also expressed appreciation to the catering service and then to the CECI staff for their hard work and dedication. Manager VanHoose then advised the membership that CECI was in good financial condition that he anticipated no rate increase. Manager VanHoose advised the membership of the strong skills held by cooperative staff and the remarkable number of years of experience the staff had collectively accumulated. Manager VanHoose also advised the membership that its Board was active and learned, and attended trainings to maintain or advance their knowledge. Manager VanHoose described to the membership the various challenges faced by CECI and the electric cooperative industry as a whole, such as environmental regulations and cost of power. Manager VanHoose clarified that CECI is not anti-environment, but is pro-common sense, insofar as pursuing a strategy for generation of affordable energy. Manager VanHoose discussed his desire to upgrade communication efforts and mediums, such as through Facebook, proactive texting and calls to the membership of outage details, bill tracking, website maintenance, and the ability for members to mobile report to CECI headquarters of outages and problems. In conclusion, Manager VanHoose once again offered his gratitude to the Board and membership and advised he would do his best in serving them.

Thereafter, Manager VanHoose called on Doug Hockman to give out door prizes. There being no further business to come before the Board, said meeting was declared adjourned at 7:08p.m.