Skip to main navigation.

ClayNews's blog

Minutes of Board of Trustees Meeting - Regular meeting March 30, 2015

Trustees present were: Frank Czyzewski, Bill Croy, Neil Gould, Frank Herman, Kevin Logan, Bob Pierson, Richard Rudolphi, Danny Schnepper and Greg Smith. Also present was Executive Vice President/General Manager Ed VanHoose. The invocation was given by Neil Gould.

    Approved the agenda as amended by Gen. Mgr. VanHoose.

    Approved the minutes and Affirmed all actions of the regular meeting held February 23, 2015 at the NRECA Annual Meeting. 

June 2015 - From the Manager

It’s that time of year again. Farm equipment is on the move, and you have probably either found yourself behind some of it on our rural highways, or sitting in the cab of a tractor waving at people to go around you. Those of us here at Clay Electric want to encourage everyone to play it safe when passing slower moving farm equipment. Be sure you have plenty of room to get around, and keep in mind that often a tractor will have to move farther in the road to avoid a mailbox or other obstacle. 


Nominating Process for 2015 Annual Meeting

The Board of Trustees shall consist of nine members. Except as otherwise provided by law, the certificate of incorporation of the Co-operative, or by these bylaws, the Board of Trustees shall manage the business affairs and property of the Co-operative, authorize contracts, fi x charges for its services for furnishing electric energy to its members, and for other services rendered for and to its members, and shall otherwise manage the affairs of the Co-operative in such manner as may be necessary, convenient or proper in order to carry out its objectives and purposes; provided, however, that the Co-operative shall not be operated for pecuniary profi t either to itself or to its members.

Minutes of Board of Trustees Meeting Regular meeting February 23, 2015

Trustees present were: Frank Czyzewski, Bill Croy, Frank Herman, Kevin Logan, Bob Pierson, Richard Rudolphi, Danny Schnepper and Greg Smith. Also present was Executive Vice President/General Manager Ed VanHoose. Absent was Neil Gould. The invocation was given by Kevin Logan.

Clay Promotions May 2015

Clay Electric Co-operative, Inc. has named Luke Johnson as the new Operations Manager. Johnson has been employed as a Journeyman lineman since 1999, having served most recently as a temporary Line Foreman. He will oversee operations of the line department for construction and upgrades of the Clay Electric distribution system. Luke and wife Jeana have three children, Grant, Reese and Trevor, and they reside in Flora.

Conklin promoted to Line Foreman Clay Electric Co-operative welcomed Matt Conklin as the newest Line Foreman on Feb. 18. Matt began his career with Clay Electric October 2001 as a lineman. He has spent his career in the construction and maintenance of the electric distribution system for CECI with progressively advanced leadership positions in the cooperative. Matt and wife, Tera, have three children, Danica, Dane and Dylan. They reside in rural Flora.

Cooperatives Participate in Youth Day

Sen. Dale Righter and Rep. David Reis met with students representing Clay Electric Co-operative, Inc. during the Illinois Electric and Telephone Cooperatives Youth Day on Wednesday, March 25th in Springfield. More than 250 students from around Illinois had an opportunity to visit the State Capitol, view state government in action and question their legislators on key issues. They also were invited into the office of Secretary of State Jesse White and got the chance to meet David Nance, an Abraham Lincoln Presenter.